The Suffern Railroad Museum was organized in 1998 as a way to showcase the rich history Suffern had forged with the Erie Railroad. Housed in the former Wells Fargo Express Building the Museum had become a depository for documents and objects that relate to the railroad and Hudson Valley. The NY and Erie Railroad operated the first train into Suffern in 1841. The train line went between Piermont on the Hudson River to Dukirk on Lake Erie. It was completed in 1851 and at that time it was the longest railroad in the U.S. at 483 miles.