In 1677, a group of Huguenot families established a community in the Hudson Valley of New York in the hope of creating a home where they could worship as they chose. In 1894, their descendants formed what is now Historic Huguenot Street to protect their legacy in the buildings, objects, and stories they left behind. Today, the 10-acre National Historic Landmark District includes a Visitor Center, seven historic stone houses, a reconstructed 1717 Huguenot church, a replica Munsee wigwam, exhibit and program spaces, archaeological sites, and a burial ground that dates to the very first settlers. Ninety minute tours of the site are offered hourly beginning at 10 am, with the last tour departing the DuBois Fort Visitor Center at 4 pm. Visitors experience over 300 years of history as they tour the interiors of two historic house museums, a reproduction stone church, and a replica wigwam. Period rooms and exhibits tell the story of a French Huguenot settlement as it evolved over time, and also reveal the history of the area’s Native and enslaved African peoples and Dutch settlers.