Join trustees of the White Plains Historical Society on Sunday, October 8, from 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM for free tours of the Jacob Purdy House, one of White Plains' greatest historical treasures. The Purdy House was built by Samuel Horton, an early settler, who remained in possession until after 1730, when Samuel Purdy purchased the house and 132 acres. The Purdy family continued in possession until the house was sold to Samuel Mott in 1869. By the 1960's the house, forgotten and neglected, had become a multi-family dwelling, slated for demolition by the Urban Renewal Agency. The Battle of White Plains Monument Committee purchased the house in 1963, and repaired and restored old beams and shingles. In 1973, when the house moved to its present site on Park Avenue, the house was deeded to the City of White Plains. In addition to tours of the house, visitors can learn about The Battle of White Plains, which took place in October 1776. The Jacob Purdy House has been source-documented as General Washington's Headquarters from July 23 to September 16, 1778. Historians also believe it to have been the General's Headquarters before the Chatterton Hill battle of October 28, 1776. On April 31, 1979, the house was placed upon the National Register of Historic Places.